Trust In The Lord

Worthless Penny or Worthy Reminder?

By Mark Hamby

I will never forget when a wealthy business owner was treating several employees to an all-expense-paid weekend at an exclusive resort. One night, en route to a posh restaurant, the multi-millionaire did something rather odd. He stopped and stared thoughtfully at the sidewalk. What was he looking at?

After an awkward moment of silence, the boss stooped to pick up a stained and well-worn penny that had been lying there. He smiled and put it into his pocket as if he’d found some great treasure.

His employees argued among themselves over this strange behavior. Why would the rich man even bother with a worthless penny? One suggested he might be a collector in search of rare coins. Finally, they asked him about his behavior.

He pulled out the penny and asked, "What inscription is on it?" ‘In God we Trust,’ they replied. Then he explained, "Whenever I see a coin, I stop and pray about whether I am trusting God at that moment or not. It’s a good reminder; one that I cherish like gold even if I’m only holding copper. And since such coins are plentiful, I’m reminded often!"

In the book of Proverbs chapter 3 we read, "Trust in the LORD with all your heart and lean not unto your own understanding, but in all your ways know him and he shall direct your paths."

When the Pharisees tested Jesus with a Roman coin he said that they should give to Caesar what belonged to Caesar and give to God what belonged to God. I think if he were given an American coin he might quote Psalm 118:8, which some contend as the center verse of the Bible,

"It’s better to trust in the LORD than to put confidence in man."

Recommended Reading:

· Psalm 118 (If you haven’t read Psalm 118 lately, I would encourage you to do so…it is filled with encouraging and challenging truth.)

One thought on “Trust In The Lord

  1. Interesting. I’m reminded of Lot being a type of a penny and Abraham being a silver dollar, and Abraham stopped to pick him up! Would I stop to pick up a penny? I don’t think so.

Comments are closed.