They Don’t Want To Think About It

I’M NOT SHARING THIS FOR THE NICOTINE INFORMATION BUT RATHER FOR MR. ROSEMOND’S PERCEPTIONS ABOUT THE AMERICAN PUBLIC. THE FOLLOWING PARAGRAPH SUMS IT UP QUITE NICELY:

I do not believe the folks in question are un-intelligent. Quite the contrary, I simply think they are not using their intelligence. In my estimation, this is the logical consequence of consuming the junk America is fed through mainstream media. That junk does not require thinking, and thinking becomes refined through thinking. The more one thinks (about what is going on around him, what he is reading, what he sees), the better, over time, one thinks. The junk food pumped into the brain by the mainstream media—soap operas of one sort or another, the constant diet of irrelevant sports (there’s a difference between enjoying a game, which I do on occasion, and actually caring about and being emotionally invested in the outcome), reality shows…even the news as portrayed by the major networks and some cable networks—is designed to provoke not thought but an emotional reaction. Through constant exposure to television, Americans have been trained to react emotionally to information. That’s very dangerous, because that is the very cultural climate that precedes the establishment of a police state. The history of the last 100 years is replete with examples. In order for a demagogue to succeed, he must have at his disposal an audience that can be manipulated through appeal to their emotions, who because they are ruled by emotion no longer recognize truth.

ANYONE CARE TO TAKE A GUESS WHO THAT “DEMAGOGUE” WILL BE?

masks
HERE’S THE FULL ARTICLE:
On My Mind, Weekend Edition: An interesting thing happened the other day, and I’d like to talk about it because it says something very significant about the world we live in.

Last week, I posted on Facebook a one-paragraph summary of research that has been and is being done concerning nicotine. I said what is factual: brain cells (neurons) have receptors that will bind with nicotine only; people who smoke cigarettes have a lower incidence of Parkinson’s and other neurological disorders; nicotine improves memory. I reported that although I have not smoked since January 21, 1969. I do, however, because of its proven mental benefits, use nicotine lozenges almost daily. If their replies were an accurate indication, many people who read the post became very upset, some claiming that I was using my influence inappropriately, some making fun of me, some saying that I should stick to parenting matters, and on and on the backlash went. Some people defended my right to post whatever I wanted to post. Some people even said they had read the same research. But those replies were effectively drowned out by the yelling and mocking. So, after some discussion, my manager and I took the post down. I’m controversial enough already—by choice, by the way. I don’t need to be associated with yet another topic of controversy.

Minutes after we took the post down, my lovely daughter Amy called me asking why we had taken it down. She said I should have stood my ground. She also told me that she had done some research on her own and discovered that what I was saying was completely truthful. She sent me links to research being conducted along these lines by the Michael J. Fox Foundation and a corroborating article in Discover magazine. I will give those links at the end of what I have to say.

One of my contentions is that many if not most Americans prefer not to think. I don’t know if this is generally true across the planet, but it is my experienced observation of typical American consumers. They feel. They don’t think. As in the case in point, they react to something—whatever it might be—completely on the basis of a knee-jerk emotional response they have to the something in question. If the knee-jerk results in a negative emotion, they begin yelling, scoffing, mocking, disparaging, and the like. It is telling to note that no one who had such a knee-jerk reaction to the Now Infamous Nicotine Post said I was giving out wrong information. Of course, they could not have because I was giving out truthful information. They weren’t thinking; they were simply reacting at an emotional level.

I do not believe the folks in question are un-intelligent. Quite the contrary, I simply think they are not using their intelligence. In my estimation, this is the logical consequence of consuming the junk America is fed through mainstream media. That junk does not require thinking, and thinking becomes refined through thinking. The more one thinks (about what is going on around him, what he is reading, what he sees), the better, over time, one thinks. The junk food pumped into the brain by the mainstream media—soap operas of one sort or another, the constant diet of irrelevant sports (there’s a difference between enjoying a game, which I do on occasion, and actually caring about and being emotionally invested in the outcome), reality shows…even the news as portrayed by the major networks and some cable networks—is designed to provoke not thought but an emotional reaction. Through constant exposure to television, Americans have been trained to react emotionally to information. That’s very dangerous, because that is the very cultural climate that precedes the establishment of a police state. The history of the last 100 years is replete with examples. In order for a demagogue to succeed, he must have at his disposal an audience that can be manipulated through appeal to their emotions, who because they are ruled by emotion no longer recognize truth. As a radio talk show host recently said, “Their hearts eat their brains.”

America is in trouble, ladies and gentlemen, and people my age talk to one another about this trouble quite a lot. We don’t generally talk to younger people (under age 55, generally) about it because when we do dare bring up the subject, young people tend to have a knee-jerk emotional reaction. To them, our concern is a sign of old age, of not understanding their generation, and so on. That right there is the problem…the people who are in a position to do something about it don’t want to think about it. And that ain’t good.

The links, for those of you who are interested, in case you might want to THINK about what I said, which was said for no other purpose than that of giving out potentially useful information, arehttp://discovermagazine.com/2014/march/13-nicotine-fix andhttps://www.michaeljfox.org/foundation/news-detail.php…

Leave a Reply

