A Mother’s Day Greeting and Reflection | RZIM

Happy Mother’s Day to all the mothers on this occasion set aside to celebrate your role and influence in the family. My mother taught me more with her proverbs and one-liners than I ever learned with long arguments, and I am ever grateful for her impact on my life.

As I reflect on this occasion, I think about the beautiful relationship Jesus had with his mother. I find it fascinating that when Jesus was in his final moments of his earthly journey providing redemption for the whole world, he paused to make sure that someone would take care of his mother. Even in the depths of his own pain and agony, Jesus was keenly aware of Mary’s distress and did not want her to feel abandoned in that moment, transferring the responsibility of his mother’s well-being to his beloved disciple, John.

Near the cross of Jesus stood his mother, his mother’s sister, Mary the wife of Clopas, and Mary Magdalene. When Jesus saw his mother there, and the disciple whom he loved standing nearby, he said to her, “Woman, here is your son,” and to the disciple, “Here is your mother.” From that time on, this disciple took her into his home. – John 19:25-27

I thank God for the value he places on motherhood and I pray we will honor the mothers in our lives today and every day. For all you mothers, I pray you feel celebrated in a special way and treasured by your Heavenly Father, knowing that your sacrificial love and tireless efforts will be rewarded.

Source: A Mother’s Day Greeting and Reflection | RZIM

One thought on “A Mother’s Day Greeting and Reflection | RZIM

  1. Love it!! Dad mention yesterday how our Lord made sure that his mother was taken care of

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

    Like

Leave a Reply

